Philip Moore & Huw Watkins

Mon 8 July 2019

The Rite of Spring

Stravinsky The Rite of Spring
John Adams Hallelujah Junction

Philip Moore studied at the Royal Academy of Music. He has appeared as a concerto soloist with, among others, the Hallé, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. Composer and pianist Huw Watkins was born in South Wales. He read music at King’s College Cambridge, studying composition with Robin Holloway and Alexander Goehr. Stravinsky described The Rite of Spring as ‘a musical-choreographic work, [representing] pagan Russia … unified by a single idea: the mystery and great surge of the creative power of Spring.’ He had already experimented with bitonality and irregular rhythm in his earlier ballets, Firebird and Petrushka, but in The Rite of Spring, to quote music critic Alex Ross, he took Russian folk melodies and ‘proceeded to pulverize them into motivic bits, pile them up in layers, and reassemble them in cubistic collages and montages’.