Paul Lewis:
Part 2

Thu 20 July 2023



F Schubert
Piano Sonata No. 15 in C major, D840
Piano Sonata No. 13 in A major, D664
Piano Sonata No. 16 in A minor, D845
Paul Lewis continues his exploration of

Paul Lewis presents the second part of a four-part Schubert programme (to be completed in 2024).

Schubert’s piano sonatas: a unique and heart-rending journey from the lyricism of the early sonatas to the transcendence of the late masterpieces, via harrowing moments of despair as his health started to decline. They express with directness and sincerity some of the most fundamental elements of human experience – longing, consolation, despair, joy, loss, nostalgia, and hope. In our time, his music is as essential and poignant as ever.

This event includes an interval.