Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective:
2nd Recital

Thu 20 July 2023


S Coleridge-Taylor Piano Trio in E minor
R Clarke Lullaby and Grotesque for viola and cello
E Elgar Piano Quintet in A minor, Op. 84

For their second recital at this year’s Festival, Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective performs a selection of romantic English works. Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s chamber music has been attracting long-overdue attention in recent years.

Rebecca Clarke was a viola-player as well as a composer, and wrote several pieces for the instrument. Elgar’s Piano Quintet is the last of the three major chamber works he composed immediately before his Cello Concerto, whose haunted atmosphere they share.

Savitri Grier  Violin
Amarins Wierdsma Violin
Rosalind Ventris Viola
Laura van der Heijden Cello
Tom Poster Piano