Imogen Cooper

Sat 6 July 2019

Imogen Cooper, piano

Brahms 3 Intermezzi, Op 117
Lizst Gretchen from Faust Symphony
Beethoven Bagatelles, Op 119
Brahms 7 Fantasien, Op 116

Imogen Cooper is internationally renowned for her virtuosity and lyricism. She has a widespread international career and has appeared as a soloist with the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia, Boston, Cleveland, Vienna Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Budapest Festival, NHK and London Symphony Orchestras. She received a CBE in the Queen’s New Year Honours in 2007 and was the recipient of an award from the Royal Philharmonic Society the following year. At the centre of her programme is the portrait of Faust’s beloved ‘Gretchen’ from Liszt’s Faust Symphony. This is framed by three perfectly crafted sets of miniatures by two titans of the Romantic era: Beethoven’s early Bagatelles and two of Brahms’ latest cycles of Intermezzi for piano. This promises to be a masterful recital of by on the world’s most respected interpreters, and a fitting curtain-raiser for this year’s 40th anniversary concert series.