BBC Philharmonic

Thu 11 July 2019

Joshua Weilerstein, conductor
Jennifer Pike, violin

Patrick Hadley Kinder Scout
Vaughan Williams
The Lark Ascending
Grieg Holberg Suite, Op 40
Ryan Wigglesworth A First Book of Inventions
Mozart Symphony No 40 in G minor

The BBC Philharmonic Orchestra visits Buxton for the first time in its history, presenting a programme which celebrates the 40th Anniversary of the Festival. It is conducted by Joshua Weilerstein, Artistic Director of the Lausanne Chamber Orchestra. Stockport-born soloist Jennifer Pike played The Lark Ascending at the service of commemoration for the 100th anniversary of the First World War at Westminster Abbey.

The programme opens with Patrick Hadley’s early tone-poem Kinder Scout. Its first performance took place at the Pavilion Gardens on 14 September 1922. Hadley wrote: ‘I vividly remembered that old Buxton-Manchester coach road … the moment when the magical panorama opens across the Chapel Valley with Kinder Scout towering up in the far distance (you need a clear day).’

Edvard Grieg’s Holberg Suite Op 40 evokes the 18th-Century dances of the time of the great Norwegian-born humanist and playwright Ludvig Holberg.

Ryan Wigglesworth was born 1979 in Sheffield, was educated at Oxford University and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. A First Book of Inventions was first performed in 2010.

Mozart’s late Symphony No 40 in G minor is an emotionally charged masterpiece, and hints at how Mozart might have written had he survived into the 18th Century.

Supported by